The Second Mrs. Astor: A Heartbreaking Historical Novel of the Titanic

The Second Mrs. Astor: A Heartbreaking Historical Novel of the Titanic
The Second Mrs. Astor: A Heartbreaking Historical Novel of the Titanic

The Second Mrs. Astor: A Heartbreaking Historical Novel of the Titanic

Ask a question
Regular price $11.98 Sale price $7.79 Save $4.19
/
  • FAST Shipping
  • Hassle free returns
  • Packaging may show shelf/handling wear
  • Secure payments
  • Low stock - 1 item left
  • Inventory on the way
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Product Description "Abé is an exquisite storyteller. Rich in detail and deeply moving." –Fiona Davis, New York Times bestselling author of The Lions of Fifth Avenue "One of the most beautifully written books I’ve ever had the pleasure to read. A gorgeous, phenomenal novel I won’t soon forget.” —Ellen Marie Wiseman New York Times bestselling Author of The Orphan Collector Perfect for fans of Jennifer Chiaverini and Marie Benedict, this riveting novel takes you inside the scandalous courtship and catastrophic honeymoon aboard the Titanic of the most famous couple of their time—John Jacob Astor and Madeleine Force. Told in rich detail, this novel of sweeping historical fiction will stay with readers long after turning the last page. Madeleine Talmage Force is just seventeen when she attracts the attention of John Jacob “Jack” Astor. Madeleine is beautiful, intelligent, and solidly upper-class, but the Astors are in a league apart. Jack’s mother was the Mrs. Astor, American royalty and New York’s most formidable socialite. Jack is dashing and industrious—a hero of the Spanish-American war, an inventor, and a canny businessman. Despite their twenty-nine-year age difference, and the scandal of Jack’s recent divorce, Madeleine falls headlong into love—and becomes the press’s favorite target. On their extended honeymoon in Egypt, the newlyweds finally find a measure of peace from photographers and journalists. Madeleine feels truly alive for the first time—and is happily pregnant. The couple plans to return home in the spring of 1912, aboard an opulent new ocean liner. When the ship hits an iceberg close to midnight on April 14th, there is no immediate panic. The swift, state-of-the-art RMS Titanic seems unsinkable. As Jack helps Madeleine into a lifeboat, he assures her that he’ll see her soon in New York… Four months later, at the Astors’ Fifth Avenue mansion, a widowed Madeleine gives birth to their son. In the wake of the disaster, the press has elevated her to the status of virtuous, tragic heroine. But Madeleine’s most important decision still lies ahead: whether to accept the role assigned to her, or carve out her own remarkable path…  “A touching, compelling, and haunting love story that will delight fans of historical fiction and enthrall those of us for whom the Titanic will always fascinate.” –Hazel Gaynor, New York Times bestselling author of When We Were Young and Brave “An engaging novel told with both heartbreaking care and vivid detail. The Second Mrs. Astor is historical fiction at its gripping and irresistible best.” –Patti Callahan, New York Times bestselling author of Surviving Savannah and Becoming Mrs. Lewis Review Praise for The Second Mrs. Astor “An engaging tale. Abé richly describes the scenery. Everything is opulent, decadent, rich. We’re taken from the shores of Maine to bustling New York City, Egypt, and eventually, aboard the Titanic where their romance meets a tragic end in the icy waters. As the story crescendos to that fateful night, readers will remain captivated by both the imagery and the plot… This is more than another tale about the Titanic, it’s a love story, a drama, and a fine historical novel. Recommended.” —Historical Novels Review on The Second Mrs. Astor "Abé is an exquisite storyteller, gracefully transporting the reader from Newport to Egypt to the cold seas of the Atlantic. Rich in detail and deeply moving." —Fiona Davis, New York Times bestselling author of The Lions of Fifth Avenue   "One of the most beautifully written books I’ve ever had the pleasure to read, THE SECOND MRS. ASTOR brings to glittering life the romantic love story between John Jacob Astor and his young bride, Madeleine. You’ll find yourself glued to every page, falling in love with this dazzling couple, and despite knowing better, hoping against hope that they avoid the tragedy that awaits them on the ill-fated Titanic. A gorgeous, phenomenal novel I won’t soon forget.” —Ellen Marie Wiseman New York Times

 

Proceed to checkout for shipping quotes.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

More from Books
Sale
Peppa's Pumpkin Day - by Golden Books (Hardcover)
Sale price $3.00 Regular price $5.99 Save $2.99
Sale
What Was I Scared Of?
Sale price $4.21 Regular price $8.41 Save $4.20
Sale
My Dog Mattis
Sale price $7.62 Regular price $15.24 Save $7.62
A Magical New York Christmas - by Anita Hughes (Paperback)
$7.10
Recently viewed